## Superior Court Minutes Honorable Sheryl B. Jolly, Judge Presiding Jury Trial Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Fuesday, February 6, 2024 Courtroom II

Court Reporter: Brittany Haskell Assistant District Attorney: Kevin Majeska Deputy Clerk: Ashley Tucker

12:40 p.m. Court is in session.

12:43 p.m. Court excuses juror #55 – Steven Greiner for cause.

1:04 p.m. The following announces ready for jury trial:

Case number: 2023CR0993

State of Georgia

Vs.

Shayla Aliece Vautaw

State of Georgia is represented by Assistant District Attorney Kevin Majeska. Defendant is represented by Jacque Hawk & Tyler Baum.

1:07 p.m. The following Jurors enter the courtroom:

- 1. Kimberly Mills
- 2. Brooke Jackson
- 3. Mary Dunn
- 4. Ted Kretz
- 5. David Carr
- 6. Michael Hill
- 7. Sherry Smith
- 8. Donna Hodges
- 9. Melissa Pettit
- 10. Lolita Mciver
- 11. Chaquita Hubbard
- 12. Donald Ingersoll
- 13. Jennifer Saxon
- 14. Thomas Christian
- 15. Julian Armstrong
- 16. Chessley Buck
- 17. Christian Avrett
- 18. Tony Coleman
- 19. Jeffery Hutson
- 20. Ciarra McConnell

Filed in Clerk's Office Tuesday, February 6, 2024 @ 3:58 p.m. Cindy Mason, Clerk of Court

- 21. Harold Sorrells
- 22. Krista Vernon
- 23. Casey Walker
- 24. Jennifer Gibson
- 25. Sheri Dixon
- 26. Michael Thompson
- 27. Harold Snellings
- 28. Kerri Degeronimo
- 29. Adam Mallard
- 30. Joseph Yavorsky
- 31. Christopher Harris
- 32. Shirlean Talley
- 33. Kelli Rupprecht
- 33. Kelli Kuppieciit
- 34. Kerri Jones (Alber)
- 35. Melinda Bozard
- 36. John Bryant
- 37. Kyle Peterson
- 38. Megan Weaver
- 39. Katronia Stallsworth
- 40. Christine Pickrell
- 1:10 p.m. Judge Jolly administers Oath to Jurors.

Judge Jolly administers Oath to Bailiffs.

- 1:17 p.m. Judge Jolly gives preliminary instructions.
- 1:12 p.m. Judge Jolly administers Voir Dire Oath to Jurors.
- 1:16 p.m. Judge Jolly qualifies the jurors.
- 1:38 p.m. Assistant District Attorney Kevin Majeska begins voir dire on behalf of the State of Georgia.
- 1:58 p.m. Attorney Jacque Hawk begins voir dire on behalf of the Defendant.
- 2:17 p.m. Jury exits back to the jury room.

Court handles matters outside the jury.

- 2:34 p.m. The following jurors are brought back for individual voir dire:
  - #4 Ted Kretz
  - #8 Donna Hodges
  - #16 Chesslev Buck
  - #29 Adam Mallard
- 2:55 p.m. Juror #8 Donna Hodges is excused for cause.
- 3:00 p.m. Jury enters the courtroom.
- 3:01 p.m. Jury is selected using the silent method.

3:10 p.m. Deputy Clerk publishes the jury.

The impaneled jurors are:

- 1. Kimberly Mills
- 2. Brooke Jackson
- 3. Mary Dunn
- 4. Michael Hill
- 5. Melissa Pettit
- 6. Lolita Mciver
- 7. Jennifer Saxon Alt. 1
- 3:11 p.m. Jurors not selected are excused with thanks from the court & exits courtroom.
- 3:13 p.m. Judge Jolly administers Oath to Jurors.

Judge Jolly gives preliminary trial instructions.

- 3:28 p.m. Assistant District Attorney Kevin Majeska begins opening statements.
- 3:34 p.m. Attorney Jacque Hawk begins opening statements.
- 3:.35 p.m. Jury exits the courtroom. Court handles matters outside the presence of the jury.
- 3:39 p.m. Jury enters the courtroom.
- 3:39 p.m. Attorney Jacque Hawk resumes opening statements.
- 3:57 p.m. Jury exits the courtroom with instructions to report back tomorrow morning at 9:00 a.m.
- 3:58 p.m. Court is adjourned.