Superior Court Minutes Honorable J. Grady Blanchard, Judge Presiding Jury Trial

Tuesday, March 4, 2025 Courtroom I

Court Reporter: Ashlyn Vest

Assistant District Attorneys: Daniel Welsh & Kristi Connell

Deputy Clerk: Sharon Long

Assistant Deputy Clerk: Ashton Tampling

9:00 a.m. Court is in session.

Court discusses pre-trial matters.

9:12 a.m. Judge qualifies translator.

9:24 a.m. Court is in recess.

10:15 a.m. Court is back in session.

Court continues discussing pre-trial matters.

10:25 a.m. Court is in recess.

10:30 a.m. Court is back in session.

Assistant District Attorney Kristi Connell puts the State's offer on the record.

10:38 a.m. Court discusses pre-trial matters.

10:47 a.m. Court Swears in the interpreter.

10:48 a.m. The following case announces ready for jury trial.

Case number: 2024CR0404

State of Georgia

Vs.

Reza Rahaeimehr, Defendant

State of Georgia is represented by Assistant District Attorney Daniel Welsh &

Kristi Connell.

Defendant is represented by Attorney Michelle R. Harrison-Medlin & Tianna M.

Bias.

Filed in Clerk's Office Tuesday, March 4, 2025 @ 1:22 p.m. Cindy Mason, Clerk of Court

10:49 a.m. The following jurors enter the courtroom.

- 1. Bartley Portwood, Sr.
- 2. John Lloyd
- 3. Kayla Arellanes
- 4. Charles Buman, II
- 5. Todd Kettler
- 6. Connor Wells
- 7. Denise Stanley
- 8. Scott Plunk
- 9. Tahnee Boesel
- 10. Benjamin Herrington
- 11. Julie McDonald
- 12. Ramon Lopez
- 13. Megan Escoto
- 14. Shelby Howard
- 15. Nakia Thompkins
- 16. Tanya Lorenzi
- 17. Michaela Jordan
- 18. Kimberly Williford
- 19. William James, III
- 20. Tyler Gray
- 21. Ryan Cail
- 22. Linward Jackson, Jr.
- 23. Sean Davis
- 24. Kiffany Huff
- 25. Christopher Murphey
- 26. Anna Waddell
- 27. Abraham Pacheco
- 28. Ruth Graupera-Frain
- 29. James Sizemore
- 30. Brigitte Koye
- 31. Amanda Barbour
- 32. Britt Stephens
- 33. Gary Cowden
- 34. Jessica Sheldon
- 35. Laura Puryear
- 36. Chelsea Smith
- 37. Alison Hixon
- 38. Turner Highfield
- 39. Scott Kirchhoff
- 40. Jared Harper
- 41. Charles Bateman
- 42. Atul Sinha
- 43. Angela Mackey
- 44. Joseph Price
- 45. Milton Birdsong

10:51 a.m. Judge Blanchard administers oath to jurors.

Judge Blanchard administers oath to bailiffs.

10:52 a.m. Judge Blanchard gives preliminary instructions to jurors.

10:57 a.m. Judge Blanchard administers voir dire oath.

Attorneys introduce themselves.

11:03 a.m. Judge Blanchard reads the indictment.

11:09 a.m. Judge Blanchard qualifies the jury.

11:09 a.m. Jurors give information about themselves.

11:30 a.m. Attorney Kristi Connell begins voir dire on behalf of the state.

11:42 a.m. Attorney Michelle R. Harrison-Medlin begins voir dire on behalf of the

defendant.

11:51 a.m. Jury exits the courtroom.

11:53 a.m. Individual voir dire begins.

12:09 p.m. The following jurors were excused for cause.

Juror #1 - Bartley Portwood, Sr.

Juror #9 - Tahnee Boesel Juror #16 - Tanya Lorenzi

Juror # 42 - Atul Sinha

12:10 p.m. Court is in recess.

12:35 p.m. Court is back in session.

12:38 p.m. Jury is selected using the silent method outside the presence of the jury.

1:17 p.m. Selected jurors enter the courtroom.

1:19 p.m. Assistant deputy clerk publishes the jury.

Impaneled jurors are:

- 1. John Lloyd
- 2. Kayla Arellanes
- 3. Ramon Lopez
- 4. Megan Escoto
- 5. Shelby Howard
- 6. Nakia Thompkins
- 7. Michaela Jordan
- 8. Linward Jackson, Jr.
- 9. Abraham Pacheco
- 10. James Sizemore
- 11. Brigitte Koye
- 12. Britt Stephens

Alt. 1. Jessica Sheldon Alt. 2. Alison Hixon

1:20 p.m. Jury exits the courtroom.

1:21 p.m. Court discusses matters outside the presence of the jury.

1:22 p.m. Court is adjourned.